[ccfic source-text] [ccfic caption-text]

Santa Maria – Political

The City of Santa Maria has a council-manager system of governance. The City Council is comprised of five members, one Mayor and four Council Members. The offices of the councilman are non-partisan and serve four year terms with elections staggered on even-numbered years. Policy is set by this elected body and carried out by an appointed City Manager. The City Manger provides overall direction and coordination of City operations to ensure that the City Council’s adopted service goals are met or exceeded and that the budget in not exceeded. The City Council is also responsible for appointing members of the Boards and Commissions.