[ccfic source-text] [ccfic caption-text]

Claremont – Political

Claremont Government

Claremont has a council-manager form of government. It is comprised of the Mayor, Mayor Pro Term, and five council members who serve four year terms. The elections of the council members are staggered with three members elected at one election and two members at the next. New members are elected every odd-numbered year on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in March. The Mayor and Mayor Pro Term are elected from the City Council’s members. The Mayor is the presiding officer at council meetings and the Mayor Pro Term fills the Mayor’s role during his absence. The Mayor, Mayor Pro Term, and the council members have an equal voting power. In addition to the council members, Mayor, and Mayor Pro Term, Claremont has five commissions, each composed of seven citizens appointed by the mayor who serve four-year terms. The commissions gather information and give the City Council suggestions for solving issues. Some of the commissions have administrative powers.