Announcing Kenneth Miller as New Rose Institute Director

Dear CMC Community:

We are pleased to announce that Kenneth P. Miller, Don H. and Edessa Rose Associate Professor of State and Local Government, has been appointed Director of the Rose Institute of State and Local Government, effective July 1, 2021.

We are thrilled to have Professor Miller take on this important leadership role at the College. Under his directorship, the Rose Institute will continue to enhance the education of students, produce high-quality research, and promote public understanding on issues of state and local government, politics, and policy, with an emphasis on California.

After joining CMC in 2003, Professor Miller became Associate Director of the Rose Institute in 2009, spearheading the Miller-Rose Institute Initiative Database and popular Video Voter series. He was Founding Co-Director of the Dreier Roundtable from 2014-2019. He is a member of the CMC chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, Tau of California.

Professor Miller is an expert on state politics, policy, and law. He has published two books (including, most recently, Texas vs. California), two edited volumes, and numerous articles and book chapters on topics including state constitutionalism, state supreme courts, state-level political geography, voting rights, redistricting, and political polarization. He offers courses in California Politics, Introduction to American Politics, and Constitutional Law, and often leads student trips to the state capital.

Professor Miller will succeed Professor Andrew Busch, Crown Professor of Government and George R. Roberts Fellow, on July 1, 2021. Under Professor Busch’s directorship for the past ten years, the Rose Institute has led several impactful initiatives, including highly successful redistricting conferences, census and redistricting webinars, and economic and political analyses focusing on the Inland Empire. Professor Busch has nourished a strong community of students, faculty, advisory board members, and alumni focused on state and local government.

Please join us in congratulating Professor Miller on his new leadership role at the College and thanking Professor Busch for his successful directorship of the Institute.

Very best,

Hiram and Shana


Hiram E. Chodosh

Shana Levin
Co-Interim Dean of the Faculty

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.